2019 OPEN DIVISION   »  Division I  »  Division II

Crusaders sweep top Open Division awards

ScoringLive photo illustration

Offensive Player of the Year: Jayden de Laura, Saint Louis

Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Herbig, Saint Louis

Coach of the Year: Cal Lee, Saint Louis



Rod Dupont

Saint Louis  •  Sr
OL  •  5'10  302

Kalan Ellis

Saint Louis  •  Jr
OL  •  6'5  290

Marcus Lombard

Kahuku  •  Sr
OL  •  6'0  285

Solatoa Moeai

Punahou  •  Sr
OL  •  6'5  315

Sergio Muasau

Mililani  •  Sr
OL  •  6'0  315

Jayden de Laura

Saint Louis  •  Sr
QB  •  5'11  183

Zealand Matagi

Kahuku  •  Jr
RB  •  5'10  195

Vincent Terrell

Punahou  •  Sr
RB  •  5'8  160

Koa Eldredge

Punahou  •  Sr
WR  •  6'0  190

Titus Mokiao-Atimalala

Campbell  •  Jr
WR  •  6'1  175

Roman Wilson

Saint Louis  •  Sr
WR  •  5'10  220

Koali Nishigaya

Saint Louis  •  Sr
UT  •  5'6  155


Zion Ah You

Kahuku  •  Jr
DL  •  5'10  250

Hiram deFries-Saronitman

Punahou  •  Sr
DL  •  6'0  230

Ezra Evaimalo

Kamehameha  •  Sr
DL  •  6'2  225

Stanley McKenzie

Saint Louis  •  Sr
DL  •  6'2  280

Jordan Botelho

Saint Louis  •  Sr
LB  •  6'2  220

Nick Herbig

Saint Louis  •  Sr
LB  •  6'2  201

Wynden Hoohuli

Mililani  •  Jr
LB  •  6'2  200

Legend Matautia

Punahou  •  Sr
LB  •  6'0  240

Alakai Gilman

Punahou  •  Sr
DB  •  6'0  190

Kaonohi Kaniho

Kahuku  •  Sr
DB  •  6'0  180

Kamoi Latu

Saint Louis  •  Sr
DB  •  6'0  170

Tevarua Tafiti

Punahou  •  So
UT  •  6'2  203


Quinn Maretzki

Punahou  •  Sr
K  •  5'10  170

Wynden Hoohuli

Mililani  •  Jr
P  •  6'2  200

Vincent Terrell

Punahou  •  Sr
RET  •  5'8  160

Peter Manuma

Campbell  •  Jr
AP  •  6'0  175



Quarterbacks: John-Keawe Sagapolutele (Punahou)

Running backs: Jonan Aina-Chaves (Campbell), Jasiah Alcover (Mililani), Raymond Millare (Farrington), Malosi Sam (Mililani)

Receivers: Moku Dancil-Evans (Punahou), Raydan Kiaaina-Caires (Punahou), Nainoa Machado (Waianae), Isaac Silva (Saint Louis)

Offensive utility: Christian Havea (Farrington), Tanner Moku (Kamehameha), Jack Tito (Kahuku)

Offensive line: Lyrik-Pablo Beleras (Campbell), Sisi Collins (Farrington), Brenan Eva (Kapolei), Zach Gardner (Mililani), Titus Kahooilihala (Waianae), Kahuike Lorenzo (Kamehameha), Jacob Tuatagaloa (Mililani)

Defensive line: Caleb Matagi (Farrington), Kenai Liua (Kahuku), Joshua Matagi (Farrington), Kuao Peihopa (Kamehameha), Anthony Sagapolutele (Saint Louis), Iosefa Tapeni (Kapolei), DJ Utu (Punahou)

Linebackers: Bam Amina (Mililani), Kalahoolewa Emmsley (Kapolei), Muelu Iosefa (Mililani), Titan Jarra (Campbell), Micah Lilo (Kamehameha), Dayne Maeva (Kamehameha), Mark Pasternak (Mililani), Jacob Saole-Sue (Kapolei), Tyrese Tafai (Campbell), Mason Tufaga (Saint Louis)

Defensive backs: Blesyng Alualu-Tuiolemotu (Campbell), Kaiser Cambro-Cho (Saint Louis), Kaipo Enos-Ho (Campbell), Alex Fonoimoana-Vaomu (Kahuku), Chanston Kaleikoa (Kamehameha), Selau Kalani (Farrington), Isaiah Mareko (Kapolei), Evan Rau (Kamehameha), Jarin Sato (Punahou), Eli Thompson (Punahou), Vaisen Viloria (Mililani), Harvey Welch (Saint Louis)

Defensive utility: Calijah Mareko (Farrington), Sonny Semeatu (Mililani)

Kickers: Lason Napuunoa (Saint Louis), Adam Requilman (Kahuku), Preston Rezentes (Kamehameha), Chase Taylor (Campbell)

All-purpose: Pokii Adkins-Kupukaa (Campbell), Saege Ayala (Waianae), Lokana Enos (Kahuku), Tomasi Pasi (Kahuku), Richard Tadeo (Campbell)

Offensive Player of the Year: Jayden de Laura, Saint Louis, QB, Sr.
The best team in the state — and one of the best in the country this season — was Saint Louis and no one was better for the Crusaders this season than Jayden de Laura, the senior quarterback at the controls of the high-powered run-and-shoot offense.

The 5-foot-11, 183-pound de Laura threw for 3,442 passing yards and 29 touchdowns against nine interceptions. He completed 71.8 percent of his passes, led his team in rushing yards and also added eight scores with his legs this year.

De Laura threw at least four TD passes in three games this year, including a season-best five in a win over Mililani in late September. He eclipsed 250 passing yards in a game nine times and finished with a completion percentage of 70 percent-or-better on seven occasions.

As a team, Saint Louis averaged 38.3 points and 413.8 total yards per game, including 311.6 through the air.

The second-year starter helped the Crusaders complete their third consecutive undefeated season with their fourth straight Open Division state crown.

De Laura has given a verbal commitment to play at Washington State next year.

Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Herbig, Saint Louis, OLB, Sr.
Opposing offenses made sure to keep tabs on number 19 on the Saint Louis defense this season, but Nick Herbig made them pay nonetheless in 2019.

The 6-foot-2, 210-pound outside linebacker simply imposed his will on the opposition and November's state tournament was but a microcosm of the disruption he caused all year long.

Herbig had perhaps his best outing in the state title game, when he racked up 5 1/2 tackles for loss, including 2 1/2 sacks and delivered the proverbial dagger with a 96-yard interception return for touchdown in the closing minutes of the Crusaders' 45-6 rout of OIA champion Kahuku.

For the season, Herbig amassed 18 1/2 TFLs, 9 1/2 sacks, a forced fumble and two fumble recoveries.

As a team, Saint Louis held opponents to just 12.7 points and 182.9 total yards per game, including a microscopic 30.5 rushing yards per game.

Herbig plans to enroll early at the University of Wisconsin in January.

Coach of the Year: Cal Lee, Saint Louis

The grandmaster of Hawaii high school football does it again.

Four straight state championships and 38 straight wins speak for itself.

To further illustrate how dominant Cal Lee's Crusaders were in 2019, Saint Louis notched its largest margin of victory in a state title game with a 45-6 win over Kahuku to end the season.