2021-2022 DIVISION I   »  Division II

Salazar-Harrell was the engine that powered the Wildcats

Greg Yamamoto | SL

Player of the Year: Kaliana Salazar-Harrell, Konawaena, G, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Dean Young, Iolani


Jaety Mandaquit

Iolani  •  So
G  •  5'6

Jovi Wahinekapu Lefotu

Iolani  •  Sr
G  •  5'9

Laynee Torres-Kahapea

Punahou  •  Jr
G  •  5'6

Kaliana Salazar-Harrell

Konawaena  •  Sr
G  •  5'5

Kayla Thornton

Maui  •  Sr
G/F  •  5'10


Ledjan Pahukoa

Lahainaluna  •  Jr
G  •  5'7

Jolie Mantz

Waiakea  •  So
G  •  5'8

Julien Parado

Campbell  •  Jr
G  •  5'6

Keirstyn Agonias

Hilo  •  Sr
G  •  5'9

Taylor Eldredge

Lahainaluna  •  Sr
G/F  •  5'8



Abby Tanaka

Iolani  •  Jr
G  •  5'5

Lilly Koki

Maryknoll  •  Sr
G  •  5'8

Jahlyxcs Liana

Nanakuli  •  Sr
G  •  5'3

Braelyn Kauhi

Konawaena  •  Jr
G/F  •  5'8

Alexus Maae

Kaiser  •  So
F/C  •  5'7


Campbell: Aliyah Bantolina, Taysia Molina-Shulte
Iolani: Haylie-Anne Ohta, Mele Sake, Paige Oh
Hilo: Veda Galima, Ayana Meyer, Alexa Meyer
Kaiser: Dacee Tsue
Kamehameha: Kealohilani Kandiah, Mackenzie Alapai, Kya Kanoho, Kylee Kamauoha-Phillips
Konawaena: Juliana Losalio-Watson, Kayla Pak, Sanoe Kihe
Lahainaluna: Travina Harris, Kiera Kaniho, Chaland Pahukoa
Leilehua: Mariah Galletes
Maryknoll: Kiani Hoolulu, Ciera Tugade-Agasiva, Elisa Holakeituai, Taimane Faleafine-Auwae
Maui: Jacy Anne Dela Cruz, Kiana Manuel, Leiana Thornton
Mililani: Mahealani Choy Foo, Jovi Funakoshi, Raini Mayo
Moanalua: Shailoh Liilii, Rheanna Nobleza
Nanakuli: Ceci Enos
Punahou: Shayna Suzuki, Kuualoha Lloyd, Keilani Stewart, Tanea Loa, Shania Moananu
Roosevelt: Makelah Richardson, Kamryn Layug-Delovio
Radford: Angel Asaah, Jirah Villanueva, Mailana Mattos
Waiakea: Maya Kaneshiro, Avery Snyder

Player of the Year: Kaliana Salazar-Harrell, Konawaena, G, Sr.

As Kaliana Salazar-Harrell went, so did the Konawaena girls basketball team. The senior guard was the straw that stirs the drink for the Wildcats, averaging 21.7 points per game to help the squad go undefeated in league play en route to a BIIF title and a runner-up finish in the state tournament. Her work ethic, competitive spirit and leadership were also top notch as she was named a captain in all of her playing years for Konawaena. Salazar-Harrell, who also earned MaxPreps POY honors, could score from anywhere on the court and was never shy to take over a game. In the state semifinals against Lahainaluna, she scored 27 points with four triples, six rebounds and three steals as the senior guard helped turn a one-point halftime lead into a 40-21 win. Her playmaking ability was sorely missed in the second half of the title game against defensive-minded Iolani when she went down with an ACL injury just before halftime. Salazar-Harrell will continue her playing career at Cal State-Fullerton, where she will link up with 2020 All-Hawaii D1 POY Lily Wahinekapu.

Coach of the Year: Dean Young, Iolani

The Iolani girls basketball team was head and shoulders above the competition in 2022. Under coach Dean Young, the Raiders went undefeated against Hawaii teams en route to their third straight D1 state championship. Eleven of Iolani's 14 wins in league play and in the state tournament were won by a margin of 10 points or more. The Raiders' Jovi Wahinekapu Lefotu and Jaety Mandaquit earned First Team All-Hawaii honors while Abby Tanaka was selected to the Third Team.