2019-2020 DIVISION II »  Division I

Mid-Pacific's Sagawa best in Division II girls basketball

ScoringLive photo illustration

Player of the Year: Madisyn Sagawa, Mid-Pacific, G, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Charles Hiers, Hanalani


Alexis Dang

Hawaii Baptist  •  Sr
G  •  5'5

Madisyn Sagawa

Mid-Pacific  •  Jr
G  •  5'4

Theresa Anakalea

Damien  •  Fr
G  •  5'5

Dominique Pacheco

KS-Hawaii  •  Sr
G/F  •  5'1

Lishae Scanlan

Hanalani  •  So
F/C  •  5'10



Faith Mersburgh

Hanalani  •  Fr
G  •  5'4

Kaye Serapio

Waimea  •  Jr
G  •  5'5

Kierstin Gummerus

Waimea  •  Jr
G  •  5'5

Sarah Schubert

KS-Hawaii  •  Fr
F  •  5'10

Anaulei Tuivai

Seabury Hall  •  Sr
C  •  6'1


Campbell: Lauren Poniatowski
Damien: Tiare Arquero, Kaira Wengler
Farrington: Lorraine Peralta, Shaylen Tatupu-Timu
Hanalani: Tatem Foster, Jacie Nava, Maria Ralar
Hawaii Baptist: Sasha Phillip, Hayley Taka, Emi Wada
Hawaii Prep: Mariah Borce, Maya Burdova
Honokaa: Kaena Tagabi
Kalaheo: Chloe Clemons
Kauai: Marissa Layosa, Amayla Sales
Lanai: Arriana Maltezo
Mid-Pacific: Paige Fahrni, Caylina Lindbo
McKinley: Raychelle Tavai
Sacred Hearts: Mahina Kaleiheana-Erickson, Te'Hiwa Medeiros
Seabury Hall: Brittlay Carillo, Ameera Waterford, Piohia Tuivai
Waialua: Trinity Ozoa
Waimea: Braelyn Cayaban, Hazel Serapio

Other coaches that received consideration: Reid Sagawa (Mid-Pacific)

Player of the Year: Madisyn Sagawa, Mid-Pacific, G, Jr.
No player meant more to their team's success during the 2019-20 season than Mid-Pacific's Madisyn Sagawa.

The Owls' junior guard was the turbine to Mid-Pacific's high-flying team and is the ScoringLive All-Hawaii Division II Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

Averaging 15.6 points per game with 21 made 3-pointers in eight regular season games and three state tournament contests, Sagawa helped the Owls go undefeated in ILH D2 play while leading Mid-Pacific to the state championship game.

"The thing about Sagawa is that she's such a consistent scorer," said McKinley coach Donald Kamai. "She can get you 15 to 18 points easy. She's aggressive going to the basket, and of course she's one of the top 3-point shooters in the state."

Hawaii Baptist coach Robin Yamaguchi definitely respected Sagawa's scoring prowess in a slim 29-28 contest during the regular season.

"My instructions to our team was ‘don't leave her side.' We always needed to guard her end to end," Yamaguchi said of Sagawa, who still managed 11 points in the low-scoring win.

Sagawa was also the unquestioned leader of a Mid-Pacific team that had a number of role players fit specific niches.

"She has such a veteran presence to her that I keep forgetting that she's only a junior," said Kamai.

Hanalani sophomore post Lishae Scanlan was also considered for the award.

Coach of the Year: Charles Hiers, Hanalani
Hanalani is finally royalty on the court.

The Royals improved on their fourth-place finish a season ago by winning their first-ever state title with Charles Hiers at the helm.

It's also worth noting that Hanalani did it with many younger players on the team, which included two freshman and two sophomores in the starting lineup.