2016 DIVISION I   Division II »  

Baldwin pitcher/outfielder Kawena Alo-Kaonohi could hit and pitch, but also was credited for his leadership in guiding the Bears to the Division I state baseball championship. Greg Yamamoto | SL

You could call Baldwin baseball star Kawena Alo-Kaonohi a three-way player.

He was exceptional on the mound with a 6-0 record to go along with a microscopic 0.60 earned run average.

He was clutch at the plate, batting .314 with a team-leading 14 RBI.

But it was his leadership that coaches credit for the Bears winning their first Division I state baseball crown since 1995 and fifth overall in the Wailuku school's history.

For that, Alo-Kaonohi was selected ScoringLive's All-Hawaii Division I Baseball Player of the Year.

"He was our No. 1 guy," Baldwin coach Jon Viela said. "Every game he went (started), he won. Good leader. He hit the ball well. He played defense well. His leadership was unbelievable."

Alo-Kaonohi's leadership was noticeable across the opponent's dugout as well.

"He definitely did it with the bat and with his pitching, too," Maui Sabers coach Chase Corniel said. "He led his team both verbally and on the field, by example, and I know that he would do whatever it takes to will his team to win. Whatever they asked him to do, he did it. His attitude and his ability to will his team to win was the determining factor in the MIL championship and the state championship, so he's definitely a great leader."

The overall leader of the Bears was Viela, a Baldwin alumnus and former University of Hawaii player. He is the Coach of the Year, ironically, in his final stint of his 10-year helm of the Bears. He will become Kamehameha-Maui's new athletic director next month.

"We played them in the preseason and to see how his team simply got better is a reflection of the job Jon and his staff accomplished," Saint Louis coach George Gusman wrote in an email. "Great teacher, coach, and person. He will be missed by Baldwin and the baseball coaching community."

» Download a printable version of the 2016 Division I All-Hawaii Team.

Viela was willing to share his wisdom with up-and-coming coaches.

"There was a lot that I learned from him over the years," Corniel said. "Every time I talked to him he was very positive and very willing to share with me advice."

Viela led the Bears to a 17-0 finish, the first undefeated season by a state champion since Waiakea finished 20-0 in 2012. He leaves coaching with a 135-31 record at Baldwin.


Player of the Year
Kawena Alo-Kaonohi, Baldwin

Coach of the Year
Jon Viela, Baldwin


Kawena Alo-Kaonohi
Baldwin  •  Sr

Joey Cantillo
Kailua  •  Jr

Trenton Darley
Pearl City  •  Sr

Taylor Meilleur
Saint Louis  •  Sr

Aris Nakagawa
Mililani  •  Sr
First base

Colby Hirano
Pearl City  •  Sr
Second base

Everett Lau
Iolani  •  Sr
Third base

Jordan Macias
Campbell  •  Sr

Matt Yokota
Pearl City  •  Sr

Alexander Oley
Mid-Pacific  •  Sr

Damien Awai
Baldwin  •  Jr

Noah Goss
Punahou  •  Sr
Designated hitter

Jacob Maekawa
Mid-Pacific  •  Sr


P: Chase Meilleur, Saint Louis - Jr
P: Riley Guieb, Punahou - Jr
P: Connor Zalewski, Kalani - Sr
C: Emmett Covello, Kaiser - Sr
1B: Ryne Yamashiro, Mid-Pacific - Sr
2B: Ryan Kono, Mililani - Sr
3B: Davin Kapuras, Pearl City - Jr
SS: Haloa Dudoit, Baldwin - Sr
OF: Kaimana Souza-Paaluhi, Mililani - Sr
OF: Cole Cabrera, Punahou - Jr
OF: Nawai Ah Yen, Baldwin - Sr
DH: Steven De Silva, Waipahu - Jr
U: Dustin Imanaka, Kailua - Sr


Catcher: Hunter Kirihara (Mililani), Kyle Layugan (Mid-Pacific), Logan Williams (Punahou), Dalton Kalama (Kailua), Mackanzy Maesaka (Waiakea), Joshua Breitbarth (Hilo), Kaleb Nishijo (Pearl City)

First base: Khaine Viliamu (Waipahu), Noah Auld (Kailua), Nainoa Keahi (Baldwin), Shaun Kurosawa (Waiakea), Easton Takamoto (Punahou)

Second base: Kao Mindoro (Maui), Matt Campos (Iolani), Trayden Tamiya (Waiakea), Lawson Faria (Kailuia), Kai Perreira-Alquiza (Saint Louis)

Shortstop: Micah Jio (Maui), Matt Aribal (Pearl City), Taylor Mondina (Waiakea)

Third base: Justin Fernandez (Campbell), Brendan Uchima (Saint Louis), Chayce Akaka (Baldwin), Trevin Tengan (Mid-Pacific), Jyrah Lalim (Maui)

Outfield: Kingsley Ballao (Maui), Payton Awaya (Kalani), Cameron Wong (Mid-Pacific), John Kea (Saint Louis), Matt Wong (Saint Louis), Jaron Sugimoto (Waipahu), Sam Prentice (Pearl City), Nathan Minami (Waiakea), Jarred Uyeda (Aiea), Keiki Kanahele-Santos (Kailua), Chase Miyasato (Kamehameha)

Pitcher: Justin Ogasawara (Mililani), Nicholas Sampson (Campbell), Carson Okada (Pearl City), Duke Fujii (Kalani), David Nakamura (Waiakea), Koa Eastlack (Mililani), Joey Jarneski (Hilo), Hiram Kaikaina (Roosevelt), Tavita Lalau (Waianae), Chad Samante (Campbell)

Utility: Kobie Russell (Waipahu), Chase Wago (Mid-Pacific), Kyle Oshiro (Maui), Brendan Odo (Kailua)

Coaches that received consideration: Gavin Concepcion (Pearl City), Shannon Hirai (Kalani), Mark Hirayama (Mililani), Dunn Muramaru, Rory Pico (Campbell), Keenan Sue (Punahou)


ScoringLive's All-Hawaii teams honor standout Division I and II athletes statewide. Selections are made by SL staff in consultation with media and coaches.

2016 Division I All-Hawaii
2016 Division II All-Hawaii
2015 Division I All-Hawaii
2015 Division II All-Hawaii
2014 Division I All-Hawaii
2014 Division II All-Hawaii

Girls Volleyball
Boys Basketball
Girls Basketball
Boys Soccer
Girls Soccer