HMSA honors 19th class of Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program

The Hawaii Medical Service Association celebrated its 19th class of the HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program recipients at Oahu Country Club today. The awards ceremony recognized 15 outstanding Hawaii high school seniors for their achievements and nine local high schools for all-around excellence in academics, athletics, community service, healthy activities, and sportsmanship.

"This program is an investment in Hawaii's future. For 19 years and counting, it's been an honor to support some of the best and brightest graduating seniors in Hawaii, as well as select schools that work tirelessly to nurture the next generation of leaders," said HMSA President and Chief Executive Officer Mark M. Mugiishi, M.D., F.A.C.S. "Many of our scholarship recipients continue to make meaningful contributions to our communities and we're grateful to play a small part in their journey."

HMSA has sponsored the Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program in partnership with the Hawaii High School Athletic Association (HHSAA) since 2005.

At the awards ceremony, 15 students across the state received scholarships worth $5,000 each. Nine high schools were recognized for achieving the highest program scores in their league (classified by enrollment), in academics, athletics, community service, healthy activities, and sportsmanship. The nine highest-scoring schools received $1,500 each.

To be eligible for a scholarship, student recipients had to graduate from a Hawaii high school in 2024 with a GPA of 2.75 or higher, participate in at least one HHSAA league-sanctioned sport, and demonstrate involvement in community service throughout their high school career. Recipients can use their scholarships to help pay for higher education, including tuition, books, computers, and room and board.

Dr. Mugiishi presented the awards and was joined by emcees Steve Uyehara and Liz Chun Uyehara. Uyehara is an anchor at Hawaii News Now and Chun Uyehara is the director of communications at Hawaii Pacific Health.

The scholarship selection committee included Katie Chang, executive director, Center for Tomorrow's Leaders; Jenn Diesman, senior vice president of government policy and advocacy, HMSA; Debbie Nakanelua-Richards, director, government and community relations, Hawaiian Airlines; Dave Reardon, sports columnist, Honolulu Star-Advertiser; and Steve Uyehara.

The students and winning schools include:

2024 HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program: Winning Students

Big Island Interscholastic Federation

Marissa Boerner, Kealakehe High School
Andrew Paresa, Waiakea High School

Interscholastic League of Honolulu

Sydney Endo, Punahou School
Kylee Hamamoto, Punahou School
Diyora Kamilova, Iolani School
Elle Mizue, Iolani School

Kauai Interscholastic Federation

Talen Koerte, Kauai High School
Shyloh McCann, Kapaa High School

Maui Interscholastic League

Madison Strand, King Kekaulike High School
Jasmyn Yoshikawa, Baldwin High School

Oahu Interscholastic Association

Kayuga Jade de Guzman, Waialua High and Intermediate School
Rafael Firme, Campbell High School
Ahryanna McGuirk, Kalaheo High School
Catalina Naki-Alforte, Nanakuli High and Intermediate School
Eve Nawahine, Kahuku High and Intermediate School

2024 HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program: Winning Schools

Big Island Interscholastic Federation

Small School (fewer than 500 students): Parker School
Large School (500 students or more): Keaau High School

Interscholastic League of Honolulu

Small School (fewer than 400 students): University Laboratory School
Large School (400 students or more): Hawaii Baptist Academy

Kauai Interscholastic Federation

Waimea High School

Maui Interscholastic League

Small School (fewer than 350 students): Maui Preparatory Academy
Large School (350 students or more): Kamehameha Schools Maui

Oahu Interscholastic Association

Small School (fewer than 1,300 students): Kalaheo High School
Large School (1,300 students or more): Moanalua High School

To learn more about the HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program, visit

Show your support

Every contribution, no matter the size, will help ScoringLive continue its mission to provide the best and most comprehensive coverage of high school sports in the state of Hawaii and beyond.

Please consider making a contribution today.



Aloha Stars rally for four in ninth to turn back Hawaiian Stars

Hilo's Legend Lancaster drives home winning run to cap a four-run ninth to lead Aloha to victory in game...

Numata All-Star game set for 7:05 p.m. Friday at UH

All-Star game on Friday at Les Murakami Stadium honors the memory of Pearl City grad Chace Numata, who...

Kapaa's Yamashita headlines All-Hawaii Division II team

The sophomore utility starred at the plate and in the circle, helping the Warriors win its second state...

Kamehameha's Williams, Mililani's Bautista headline All-Hawaii D1 picks

Warriors' senior shortstop Mua Williams repeats as position player of the year; Trojans' freshman Hinano...

Kamehameha's Wade, Punahou's Cormack garner Distinguished Athlete honors

Junior outside hitter Kainoa Wade and senior midfielder Carly Cormack named Distinguished Male and Female...

Kamehameha-Hawaii's Santos named All-Hawaii Division II Player of the Year

Junior pitcher Shiloh Santos contributed on both the mound and at the plate to help lead the Warriors...