Five Saint Louis pitchers combine to no-hit Kailua for 3rd place

WAILUKU, Maui - Laakea Correa, Kobly Gushiken, Aiva Arquette, Tanner Chun and Sean Yamaguchi combined on a six-inning no-hitter as Saint Louis beat Kailua, 9-1,  for third place in the Wally Yonamine Foundation Division I state tournament Saturday at Iron Maehara Stadium.

Correa, the starter, went two innings, while the rest tossed one each.

On Wednesday, Pearl City's Dacoda Agoto (6 innings) and Devin Hayashi (1 inning) no-hit Moanalua in the opening round in a 4-1 win.

The two no-hitters in a tournament were the first since 1993 (Waianae's Arthur Davis and Kailua's Jeff Martin). Both also were first-round games.

Show your support

Every contribution, no matter the size, will help ScoringLive continue its mission to provide the best and most comprehensive coverage of high school sports in the state of Hawaii and beyond.

Please consider making a contribution today.



Kamehameha's Kahahawai cemented legacy with whirlwind senior year

The University of Texas-bound outside hitter is the third consecutive female from Kamehameha to win the...

Kahuku's Carvalho dazzled on football field, in classroom

The wide receiver/kick returner excelled both on the field and in classroom for the Open Division state...

Kahuku's Carvalho, Iolani's Mandaquit named Newcomers of the Year

Junior receiver/kick returner Kainoa Carvalho and sophomore guard Jaety Mandaquit receive annual first-year...

Agbayani, Sniffen garner top honors in Division I softball

Senior Ailana Agbayani named All-Hawaii position player of the year; Sophomore Jenna Sniffen named pitcher...

Makanani led the way for Division II champion Kapaa

Kapaa senior pitcher Seijia Makanani named All-Hawaii Division II player of the year; Warriors' Alani...

Lazaro did it all for Division II runner up Waimea

Menehunes' pitcher Anson Lazaro named All-Hawaii D2 player of the year; Damien's Skyler Tengan named...