OIA Girls Water Polo
Waialua, Leilehua romp opponents for first wins


WAIPIO — After winning the first two games of the season via forfeit, Leilehua made a big splash with its in-pool debut by defeating Mililani, 11-1, Wednesday afternoon in Oahu Interscholastic Association play at the K. Mark Takai Veteran's Memorial Aquatic Center at Patsy T. Mink Central Oahu Regional Park.

The Mules were led by their returning duo of All-OIA Second Teamers from a season ago with Kaya Takeshige's five goals and Taylor Dinsmore-Nassar's four scores.

Brina Peters and Kamaile Sorge each also added in another goal.

Mililani's lone goal came in the first quarter from Angie Lancaster.

The Trojans dropped to 2-1 and will return to the Veteran's Memorial pool next Wednesday to play Roosevelt.

Leilehua is now 3-0 and will play McKinley next Wednesday.




Waialua rebounded from an earlier loss Wednesday afternoon to down Waipahu, 15-2, in the Bulldogs' first win in the pool.

The Bulldogs jumped out to a 7-0 lead in the first period and then a 10-0 score at halftime.

Azia Bjur led the way with seven goals with Ruby Robinson following with four scores. Maile Skinner and Savannah Jansen each chipped in a pair of goals.

Waialua fell 10-6 to Campbell earlier in the afternoon, improving its record to 2-2 with the first win via forfeit.

Waipahu's Kiana Samonte and Halee Cabigas scored the two goals for the Marauders.

The Bulldogs return to CORP Saturday to play Kalaheo while the Marauders will play Moanalua.

Show your support

Every contribution, no matter the size, will help ScoringLive continue its mission to provide the best and most comprehensive coverage of high school sports in the state of Hawaii and beyond.

Please consider making a contribution today.




MIL no ka oi - Baldwin, Maui declared Division I co-champs

Game called in the third inning as rain causes safety issue; both teams go home champions in first ever...

Kamehameha-Hawaii topples Damien to claim first state title since 2016

The Warriors blasted eight hits for a nine-run first inning to run-rule the Monarchs to win their first...

Maui shuts out Saint Louis to reach Division I finale for first time since 2017

Nicholas Nashiwa's two-out, RBI single to left, the Sabers' only one of the game, proved to be the difference...

Bears squeeze by Warriors to set up all-MIL final with Maui

Kaden Anderson pitched five innings and made an incredible running catch to deep right-center field to...

No. 1 Mililani claims fourth D1 state crown, first since 2014, with rout of No. 2 Kamehameha

Sunni Kahanu belted a pair of home runs and drove in five runs and Hinano Bautista fired a four-hitter...

No. 10 Kapaa dominates PAC-5 to end perfect season with D2 state title

The Warriors hammered out 12 hits in their 12-run rout of the Wolfpack to win their first Division II...