HHSAA Boys Soccer
Hawaii Prep edges KS-Hawaii to return to D2 title game


Fri, Feb 14, 2020 @ Waipio

Final 1st 2nd OT 2OT PK Tot
KS-Hawaii (12-5-1) 0 0 - - - 0
Hawaii Prep (13-3-0) 0 1 - - - 1
N. Balaam (45')

WAIPAHU — In Hawaii Prep's return to Division II, its lone blemish of the season in divisional play was a 1-0 loss to Kamehameha-Hawaii earlier in January.

Friday afternoon, Ka Makani avenged that loss by flipping that same score in their favor on Noah Balaam's 45th-minute goal to set up a return trip to Saturday's The Queen's Medical Center/HHSAA Division II State Championship game after a two-year absence of competing at the Division I level.

After 40 scoreless minutes to take the game to halftime at the Waipio Peninsula Soccer Complex Stadium, the Warriors looked to have a prime opportunity less than five minutes into the second half with a corner kick incoming. Ka Makani successfully defended and quickly countered down the field with Balaam netting his sixth score of the season.

HPA will take on defending state champion Kapaa Saturday evening with first kick slated for 5 p.m.

The last time Hawaii Prep competed in Division II was 2017 when it ousted Saint Louis, 2-1, in OT for its second consecutive koa trophy.

Kamehameha-Hawaii will try for its first state third place finish against Seabury Hall.




Raiders rose to the occasion for sixth straight D2 title in 2012

Iolani scored the go-ahead touchdown with 1:53 to play and overcame 441 rushing yards by Lahainaluna...

Tagovailoa-Amosa anchors No. 2 Notre Dame's defensive front

The 2017 Kapolei graduate from Ewa Beach is in his second season as a starter for the undefeated Fighting...

Kahuku alum Kaniho excels on the field, in the classroom for Broncos

The 2016 All-Hawaii Open Division Defensive Player of the Year and Boise State senior nickelback has...

Vikings reached top of the mountain in historic 2017 season

Hilo became the first neighbor island school to claim a D1 state football championship with its come-from-behind...

Rams readied for Wildcats, raucous atmosphere in 2015

Radford's road to the D2 state title that season was nearly blocked by a pesky Konawaena squad in the...

Top-ranked Longhorns rolling with Gabriel at the controls

The 2018 Maryknoll graduate and two-time All-Hawaii pick is in her second season as the starting setter...