OIA Girls Basketball
Big third quarter propels Nanakuli into OIA quarterfinals


Wed, Jan 22, 2020 @ Roosevelt

Final 1 2 3 4  
Nanakuli (7-6, 10-11) 6 12171348
Roosevelt (8-4, 14-6) 6 12 4 1739
K. Pitoy 10 pts
C. Enos 23 pts

MAKIKI—Nanakuli broke open the game in the third quarter to defeat Roosevelt, 48-39, in the opening round of the Oahu Interscholastic Association Division I playoffs at the Rough Riders' gymnasium Wednesday.

Ceci Enos poured in 23 points, Destiny Hicks added 16, and Lyxc Liana with nine to lead the Golden Hawks (7-4) into the quarterfinal round to face the West's top seed Radford (10-0) at Jim Alegre Gymnasium Thursday.

The Rams handed Nanakuli a 44-37 loss back on Jan. 10.

Roosevelt led 11-6 after a 6-all first quarter following a 3-pointer from Elwin for the Rough Riders' largest lead of the game. Nanakuli chipped away to get within two and Liana was fouled on her way to the basket and sank two foul shots to tie the game at 18 going into halftime.

Nanakuli pulled away as Enos scored 12 points in the third quarter and Hicks added two layups off steals to help put the Golden Hawks up 13 and took a 35-22 lead going into the fourth.

Roosevelt whittled the double digit deficit all the way down to six following Elwin's 3-pointer, however Hicks answered with a deep two and scored 10 points in the quarter. Elwin brought the score within five with her final 3-pointer of the night, but Roosevelt could not get any closer.

Kanilehua Pitoy scored 10 points and Leinaala Elwin added nine points on three 3s as the Rough Riders end the season with a 8-4 league record.

Reach Brandon Ching at [email protected].




2019-20 Hawaii Gatorade State Player of the Year selections

Twelve student-athletes recognized based on the criteria for athletic excellence, academic achievement...

2020 Kaimana Awards & Scholarship winners

Fifteen graduating student-athletes were awarded a $5,000 scholarship from HMSA.

All-Hawaii, Newcomer Award winners share messages of appreciation

View video messages from your 2019-20 All-Hawaii Players of the Year and Newcomer Award winners.

Punahou's Sagapolutele, Damien's Anakalea earn Newcomer Award honors

Annual award honors a male and a female student-athlete participating in their first full year of play...

Lunas' Tihada, Warriors' Akana named Distinguished Athlete Award winners

Lahainaluna running back, Kamehameha outside hitter recognized as top prep athletes in 2019-20 school...

Big Island home 'erupts' when Twins take Rosario

Kalai Rosario, a two-time All-Hawaii outfield selection, was the only Hawaii high school player taken...