Boys Basketball
Punahou wipes out Kailua to face Kamehameha


Fri, Dec 6, 2019 @ Kailua

Final 1 2 3 4  
Punahou (7-6, 17-12) 19 2815870
Kailua (8-4, 19-7) 14 11 6 1546
N. Peters 18 pts  1 3pm  5/5 FTs
A. Kobayashi 19 pts  3 3pm  2/3 FTs

KAILUA—Punahou blew open the game in the second quarter to pummel host Kailua, 70-46 in the nightcap of the 8th Annual Surfriders Holiday Classic semifinals Friday.

The Buffanblu's win and Kamehameha-Kapalama's 90-67 win over Baldwin sets up an all-Interscholastic League of Honolulu final for the tournament bragging rights.

Andrew "Yoshi" Kobayashi led all scorers with 19 points and made three 3-pointers and Ryder Hsiung added 14 points and three 3's as the Buffanblu as a team drained 13 3's for the game.

Nainoa Peters scored a team-high 18 points for Kailua and kept the Surfriders in the first quarter as he hit a 3-pointer from the right wing to reclaim the lead, 12-9. Kailua and Punahou would trade baskets until Grant Nakanishi and Noah Kameehonua each made 3's to give the Buffanblu a 19-14 lead going into the second quarter.

Punahou opened the second quarter on a 7-0 run after Hsiung made one of his three 3's from the left wing. Isaac Auld's pair of free throws cut the deficit to 10, 26-16. It was all Buffanblu from there and broke open the floodgates finishing the quarter with 28 total points, 18 coming off of six 3's for a 47-26 lead at halftime. 

Kailua faces Baldwin for third place.

Punahou and Kamehameha are scheduled to meet in league play at Kekuhaupio Gymnasium on Jan. 11 and at Hemmeter Fieldhouse on Jan. 24.

Reach Brandon Ching at [email protected].

Show your support

Every contribution, no matter the size, will help ScoringLive continue its mission to provide the best and most comprehensive coverage of high school sports in the state of Hawaii and beyond.

Please consider making a contribution today.




Punahou finished off year-long road to redemption with win over Kamehameha in D1 final

Despite some wet weather in the morning — and a change in venue — there was no raining on Punahou's...

Moanalua upsets Mililani in opening round play

Na Menehune advances to face fourth-seeded Kamehameha-Hawaii Wednesday night at 5 p.m. in the quarterfinals.

Surfriders cruise past Lunas; top-seeded Crusaders next

Jonny Philbrick scored 24 points as visiting Kailua jumped out to an early 8-0 lead and never looked...

Punahou knocks off Kapolei to reach Division I quarterfinals

Buffanblu get second half goals from Declan Horio and Noa Yoo in the win, will face Hilo in next round.

Buffanblu breakthrough against Warriors for first state championship since 2011

Punahou prevailed for its 12th state title Saturday night by virtue of its first win over three-time...

Kapaa routs Hanalani to claim first ever basketball state title

Warriors capped off an undefeated run through the KIF with a convincing wire-to-wire win in the tourney...