ILH Baseball
Relief helps Crusaders rally by Spartans, 7-5


Tue, Mar 5, 2019 @ [ 3:30 pm ]

F/8TH 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 R H E
Saint Louis 0 20000327111
Maryknoll 1 3 000100560

W: Jacob Thomas Navyac    L: Reggie Eiland

MS: Devin Shimabukuro 1-3 2 runs; Justice Yamashita 6.7 IP 4 ER 3 K
STL: Caleb Lomavita 4-5 run 2 rbi dbl; Jacob Thomas Navyac 2.6 IP 0 ER 5 K

WAIPIO — It was all about relief pitching when Saint Louis scored five runs in the final two innings to beat Maryknoll, 7-5, in eight innings Tuesday in an Interscholastic League of Honolulu baseball season opener.

Down 5-2 in the top of the seventh, the Crusaders (1-0) scored three to tie and followed with two in the eighth to cap their comeback against the Spartans (0-1), who took a 5-2 lead into the seventh at Central Oahu Regional Park.

Noah Tory knocked in the go-ahead run in the eighth with a single and Caleb Lomavita followed with an insurance RBI single off Reggie Eiland (0-1), Maryknoll's third pitcher of the game.

But the story was relief pitching. JT Navyac (1-0) pitched 2 2/3 scoreless innings in getting credit for the win. But it was the strong middle relief of left-hander Makaio Bruchal that settled the game to keep the Crusaders in striking range. He tossed 3 1/3 innings, allowing an unearned run, three hits and a walk with three strikeouts. It came after starter Richie Vidal III managed only two-plus innings after allowing four runs, two hits and four walks.

"Makaio was the key," Saint Louis coach George Gusman said. "He did a nice job by settling everything down. He threw strikes."

The Spartans' counterparts, though, could not close the door on the Crusaders. Starting pitcher Justice Yamashita took a 5-2 lead into the seventh but walked lead-off hitter Jonah Zembik, who moved to second and third on consecutive ground outs to the right side. Yamachika, who was approaching the 110-pitch limit, allowed an 0-2 pitch single to Caleb Lomavita to pull the Crusaders to 5-3. Yamashita was pulled after 107 pitches for Hailama Swartman, who started the game at first base. But Swartman walked Makana Ontai on five pitches to put the tying runner aboard. Swartman was pulled for Eiland, who started at shortstop. Austin Teixeira greeted Eiland with an RBI single to left that moved Ontai to second. Eiland then walked Navyac and Hunter Peneueta to force home the tying run. Eiland struck out Matthew Saelua to end the inning.

Maryknoll got a runner on in the bottom of the seventh, but Navyac stranded him there to send the game into extra innings.

Eiland continued to struggle with control when he walked Zembik to start the eighth. Zembik took second on Cole Kashimoto's single (3 for 5, two doubles). After the runners advanced on a wild pitch, Tory singled home courtesy runner Doug Cabinatan III to break the deadlock with Kashimoto taking third. After Tory was caught stealing second, Lomavita singled home Kashimoto to make it 7-5 with one out.

With darkness setting quickly — had Maryknoll not been able to bat because of darkness, the game would have reverted back to the previous inning — Lomavita was caught stealing and Ontai grounded out to the pitcher to end the inning.

Navyac retired the Spartans in order, including two strikeouts, in the bottom of the eighth to end the game.

Reach Stacy Kaneshiro at [email protected].

Show your support

Every contribution, no matter the size, will help ScoringLive continue its mission to provide the best and most comprehensive coverage of high school sports in the state of Hawaii and beyond.

Please consider making a contribution today.



Waianae stuns No. 10 Mililani to gain share of West lead

Tautuaa's 13 kills propels Waianae over No. 10 Mililani in four sets to force a share for the OIA West...

No. 4 Kahuku sweeps Farrington to lock up first round bye

Sophomore OH Chalei Reid put down 18 kills to lead the Red Raiders over the Governors in a 25-19, 25-21,...

No. 10 Mililani staves off upset-minded Leilehua in reverse sweep

The Trojans got the gut check they needed from the Mules Tuesday night, but ultimately prevailed to improve...

Apau's athleticism aided Bulldogs in win; Unbeaten Warriors lean on Honma's consistency

The Waialua senior quarterback passed for 325 yards and three TDs against Kalani, while the junior outside...

Waianae downs Leilehua for first OIA Open win of season

Joshua Santiago's 2 TD receptions help Waianae beat Leilehua, 20-0, to snap a four-game losing streak

Waimea gets last gasp score to edge Kauai, secure D2 state berth

The Menehunes came up with big stops on defense all afternoon and pieced together a key drive on offense...