ILH Boys Soccer
Buffanblu blaze by Raiders for ILH crown


Tue, Jan 29, 2019 @ Punahou

Final 1st 2nd OT 2OT PK Tot
Iolani (13-3-1) 0 1 - - - 1
Punahou (12-1-2) 2 2 - - - 4
M. Williams, PUN, B. Parke, IOL, B. Parke, IOL

MAKIKI — On a wet and slippery Tuesday afternoon, Punahou still set fire to their own turf at Alexander Field as the No. 3 Buffanblu blazed by top-ranked Iolani, 4-1, to capture the overall Interscholastic League of Honolulu Division I title and a seeded berth and first round bye in The Queen's Medical Center/HHSAA Boys Soccer State Championships next week.

The Buffanblu scored a pair of goals in each half and jumped out to a 4-0 lead with an own goal and scores from Micah Williams, Treyden Buder-Nakasone and Max Moonier.

Iolani prevented the shutout with Brendan Parke netting the Raiders' lone goal.

Punahou won the ILH first round with a regular season record of 8-0-2 but were eliminated by Kamehameha in the second round tournament. Iolani defeated the Warriors last Saturday to win the second round and claim a state berth, forcing Tuesday's playoff for the overall championship.

The Division I state tournament begins Monday, Feb. 4 with four regional opening round matches and continues Thursday, Feb. 7 with the championship game slated for 7 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 9 at the Waipio Peninsula Soccer Complex Stadium.




Saint Francis softball keeps climbing

The Saints jumped up two spots to No. 4 as they await next week's state tournament.

Raiders take top spot away from Buffanblu

Iolani beat top-ranked Punahou twice last week in ILH Division I second round play.

Mililani, Kailua ranked again in baseball

Both the Trojans and Surfriders have a first round bye in the OIA Division I playoffs.

Cougars crash Red Raiders to claim OIA crown

Kaiser ended Kahuku's nine-year reign to win its first OIA championship.

Mililani girls, Radford boys win at OIA track

Trojans won their first girls title since 2008 while Rams won their 20th boys title.

No. 1 Campbell captures seventh OIA crown

Sabers down Mules for second consecutive OIA title and seeded state tournament berth.