Kaimana Awards honors 16 student-athletes


Sixteen student-athletes from five different islands were honored Saturday afternoon at the annual HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program awards luncheon at the Hawaii Convention Center.

For the 13th consecutive year, HMSA teamed with the Hawaii High School Athletic Association to recognize the achievements of the recent high school graduates. The program recognizes and rewards excellence in academics, athletics, community service and healthy activities.

Applicants must have maintained a grade point average of at least 2.75, participated in one or more league-recognized sports during high school, been involved in his/her community through volunteer activities and have graduated at the end of their senior year. A total of 414 applications were received this year.

The scholarship recipients represent 11 schools from all five of the state's interscholastic leagues:

  » Justin Abe, Punahou - Wrestling, Judo
  » Matthew Anzalone, Iolani - Boys Soccer, Track & Field
  » Makanahele Emmsley, King Kekaulike - Paddling, Girls Water Polo
  » Cayenne Gabaylo, Nanakuli - Paddling, Track & Field
  » Maya Gee, Kealakehe - Swimming, Girls Water Polo, Cheerleading
  » Daniel Huang, Kalani - Tennis
  » Gerri-co Jenks, Waianae - Football, Wrestling, Track & Field
  » Braeden Jensen, Kapaa - Football, Wrestling
  » Nainoa Kahale, Molokai - Football, Cross Country, Boys Basketball, Boys Volleyball
  » Kawai Kaneakua-Rauschenburg, Ke Kula Kaiapuni O Anuenue - Softball, Girls Volleyball, Track & Field
  » Caitlin Kawaiaea, Nanakuli - Cross Country, Girls Basketball, Paddling, Track & Field
  » Anna Kimata, Punahou - Swimming
  » Hope Kudo, Kealakehe - Cross Country, Tennis, Track & Field
  » Sariah Mokuahi, Kapaa - Girls Volleyball, Paddling, Track & Field
  » Natalie Uhr, Iolani - Diving, Sailing, Kayaking, Cross Country, Track & Field
  » Bradley Wood, Kaiser - Football, Boys Basketball, Baseball, Track & Field

Each recipient will receive a $5,000 scholarship. To date, the program has awarded 266 scholarships and nearly $1 million dollars in scholarship monies.


A post shared by ScoringLive (@scoringlive) on Jun 9, 2018 at 8:15pm PDT

In addition, nine schools were honored with a Kaimana School Award, which comes with a check for $1,500 and an award banner.

The winners of the Kaimana School Awards were:

  » Big Island Interscholastic Federation
     - Small school (fewer than 200 students): Parker School
     - Large school (200 or more students): Keaau
  » Interscholastic League of Honolulu
     - Small school (fewer than 400 students): Le Jardin Academy
     - Large school (400 or more students): Hawaii Baptist Academy
  » Kauai Interscholastic Federation
     - Waimea High School
  » Maui Interscholastic League
     - Small school (fewer than 350 students): Maui Preparatory Academy
     - Large school (350 or more students): Kamehameha-Maui
  » Oahu Interscholastic Association
     - Small school (fewer than 1,300 students): Kalaheo
     - Large school (1,300 or more students): Moanalua

The scholarship recipients were chosen by a selection committee made up of Elisa Yadao (Senior Vice President and Chief Communications and Community Engagement Officer for HMSA), Debbie Nakanelua-Richards (Director of Community Relations for Hawaiian Airlines), Robert Kekaula (KITV4 news anchor), Dave Reardon (Honolulu Star-Advertiser sports columnist) and Steve Uyehara (Hawaii News Now news anchor).

More information about the HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program as well as bios of the award recipients and a complete listing of past winners can be found on the HMSA website.




Kahale blazed his own path at Molokai

After two seasons on the Farmers football team, Nainoa Kahale made a difficult decision.

Photo Extra: 2018 OIA Awards Banquet

Various awards were given out to OIA coaches, administrators and officials.

Leilehua sweeps top All-Hawaii softball honors

Kamakaiwi, Araki collect Pitcher, Player of the Year awards; Au named Coach of the Year.

Saints' Ofoia was top player in all of D2

The Saint Francis senior batted .605 and hammered a state-leading 12 home runs.

Atlanta Braves to hold tryout camp at Mililani

Braves Area Scouting Supervisor Dan Cox (Aiea '91) hosts free tryout camp for fourth year.

Hoopii-Tuionetoa, Parker lead All-Hawaii picks

Baldwin captured its sixth state title while Kailua's Parker led the state in strikeouts.