Student-athletes sign early letter of intent


Forty high school student-athletes put their futures in writing Wednesday morning at the annual Education First National Letter of Intent Early Signing Day ceremony at the Waikiki Elks Club.

The group of high school seniors included athletes signing to play baseball, golf, softball, volleyball and water polo.

Notable players that inked their letter of intent is Punahou outside hitter and reigning All-Hawaii Boys Volleyball Player of the Year Ryan Wilcox (University of California, Santa Barbara) and Ally Wada (University of San Francisco), a multi-sport athlete for Hawaii Baptist that was the All-Hawaii Division II Girls Basketball Player of the Year two season ago.

A full list of the signees are listed below.

National Letter of Intent signees
Name (High School), Sport - College/University

Shane Adams (Mid-Pacific), Baseball - Hawaii Pacific Univeristy
Jessica Hunter Akiona (La Pietra), Volleyball - University of West Alabama
Kahi Bisho (Punahou), Baseball - University of Kansas
Claire Choi (Punahou), Golf - Santa Clara University
Matthew Erickson (Mid-Pacific), Baseball - Santa Clara University
Rhyenne-Gabriella Filisi (Maryknoll), Volleyball - West Virginia University
Jhenna Gabriel (Maryknoll), Volleyball - University of Texas, Austin
Savana Greene (Punahou), Volleyball - Pepperdine University
Paige Hilliard (Punahou), Volleyball - Louisiana State University
Remington Hirano (Punahou), Golf - University of San Diego
Cole Hogland (Iolani), Volleyball - University of Hawaii, Manoa
Trevor Ichimura (Iolani), Baseball - Washington State University
Summer Kamioka (Moanalua), Softball - Lindenwood University, Belleville
Danielle Kauhi (Punahou), Water Polo - University of California, Santa Barbara
Kolbee Kealoha (Saint Francis), Softball - William Jewell College
Tate Lutu (Sacred Hearts), Volleyball - Chaminade University
Miki Manta (Kalani), Golf - California State University, Sacramento
Allysha Mae Mateo (Maryknoll), Golf - Brigham Young University
Aria McComber (Punahou), Volleyball - Washington State University
Jameson Mckibbin (Punahou), Volleyball - University of Southern California
Raynna Mekaru (Maryknoll), Softball - Pacific Lutheran University
TiaRose Nagami (Maryknoll), Volleyball - University of Sioux Falls
Malia Nam (Kaiser), Golf - University of Southern California
Shall Niu (Kahuku), Volleyball - George Mason University
Sammie Ofoia (Saint Francis), Softball - Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville
Stone Parker (Kailua), Baseball - University of Kansas
Joelle Perreira (Saint Francis), Softball - Eastern Arizona College
Lii Pontes (Kamehameha), Baseball - University of Hawaii, Manoa
Xeryah Salanoa (Punahou), Volleyball - Temple University
Nicholas Sampson (Campbell), Baseball - Santa Clara
Korrey Siracusa (Mililani), Baseball - California State University, Fullerton
Lanakila Sturm (Kamehameha), Volleyball - North Greenville University
Keene Tanaka (Iolani), Baseball - Colorado School of Mines
Haylie Uetake (Roosevelt), Softball - Pacific University (Oregon)
Kiana Vierra (Kamehameha), Basketball - University of California, Santa Barbara
Ally Wada (Hawaii Baptist), Volleyball - University of San Francisco
Ryan Wilcox (Punahou), Volleyball - University of California, Santa Barbara
Hailey-Alexis Yamaguchi (Pearl City), Softball - Eastern Arizona College
Sheena Yoshioka (Punahou), Volleyball - St. Johns University
Wyatt Young (Mid-Pacific), Baseball - Pepperdine University




Hard work, diligence paid off for Oishi, Obrey

The pair were honored last month as ScoringLive's Distinguished Athlete Award winners.

Photo Extra: 2019 OIA Awards Banquet

OIA coaches, athletic trainers, officials and athletic directors were honored last Friday.

Perkins made instant impact for Trojans in '19

It did not take long for baseball to find its way back into the life of Tommy Perkins.

Yonamine, Haole lead All-Hawaii D1 team

The Iolani catcher, Baldwin pitcher was tops on the diamond in Division I.