Pac-Five's Yoshioka named All-Hawaii Division II POY

For the Pac-Five softball team, it all started with the bat of Karley Ann Yoshioka. Literally.

The senior shortstop was the leadoff batter for the team and was why the Wolfpack were able to bring home their first state title since 2011.

In the Division II title game against three-time defending state champion Nanakuli, Yoshioka scored three times in a 6-4 win and had a solo home run to lead off the bottom of the first inning.

She also made a key double play on her own in the top of the sixth against the Golden Hawks. With no outs and the bases loaded, Yoshioka caught a line drive and doubled off the runner at third to help the Wolfpack get out of a jam.

"That's the one that broke our back," said Nanakuli coach Ricky Gusman. "She seems to be the heartbeat of the team. When she has a good game, Pac-Five is in a good position to win."

Yoshioka, a four-year varsity player, consistently did her job as the leadoff batter in setting the stage for the Wolfpack offense, finishing with 22 runs for the year.

Experience and patience at the plate contributed to the senior shortstop's success during Interscholastic League of Honolulu play and the postseason. 

"She's a disciplined hitter and she doesn't go for any pitch," said Gusman. "It's very difficult when you fall behind the count with her at the plate."

Yoshioka finished her senior campaign with 15 RBIs on 23 hits, two doubles, three triples and four home runs, astounding numbers for someone that plays in a league that integrates Division I and Division II competition.

Pac-Five coach Cecil Hasegawa is the Division II Coach of the Year after guiding the Wolfpack to their fifth title in school history. Hasegawa's squad had four wins over Division I competition during the season to finish with a 10-6-1 record.

"I've known him for quite a while. He's a good coach and very humble," said Gusman. "There's no better person than Cecil to win this award. I tip my hat to him."


Player of the Year: Karley Ann Yoshioka, Pac-Five
Coach of the Year: Cecil Hasegawa, Pac-Five


Mykala Tokunaga
KS-Hawaii  •  Sr
Kanalei McCoy
Nanakuli  •  Jr
Kekai Wong-Yuen
KS-Hawaii  •  Sr
Sammie Ofoia
Saint Francis  •  So
First base
Kama Kaeo
Nanakuli  •  Sr
Second base
Brazzlynn Tovio-Asato
PAC-5  •  Sr
Third base
Karley Ann Yoshioka
PAC-5  •  Sr
Kalyn Kershner
PAC-5  •  Fr
Makena Wagner
KS-Hawaii  •  Sr
Keani Sonognini-Keopuhiwa
Nanakuli  •  Sr
Kiara Peterson
PAC-5  •  Jr
Designated player
Chantelle Shimabukuro
Aiea  •  Jr


P: Cherise Horita  •  Kalani  •  Fr

P: Shaye Simms  •  Saint Francis  •  Sr

C: Kaila Burnett  •  Nanakuli  •  Jr

1B: Ashley Van Gieson  •  Nanakuli  •  Sr

2B: Taylor-James Sullivan  •  KS-Hawaii  •  So

3B: Korrie Matsumura  •  Saint Francis  •  Sr

SS: Daria Kawaauhau  •  Nanakuli  •  Sr

OF: Jacianne Furuya  •  Kalani  •  Sr

OF: Jessica Cameros  •  KS-Hawaii  •  So

OF: Kolbee Kealoha  •  Saint Francis  •  So

DP: Skye Ah Yat  •  Saint Francis  •  So

U: Andrea Dicion  •  Waialua  •  So


Catcher: Teizha Kaluna (Konawaena), Shazzareigh Nakoa-Chung (Pac-Five), Jordan Sanches (Lanai), Honor Siu-Auelua (Radford), Tammie Yoshimori (Kauai)

First base: Kaipo Castillo (Farrington), Setsuko Kimura (Kohala), Kaimana Joy Manzano (Konawaeina), Cameron Peterson (Pac-Five)

Second base: Khaylie Adachi-Kawamae (Molokai), Starlynn Ripley (Waimea), Tia Takasai (Kauai), Venetia-May Ueoka (Aiea)

Third base: Alyssa Miyamoto (Waimea), Kahele Nishikawa-Chandler (Kauai) Mahina Piilani (Nanakuli), Sadie Schilling (Lanai)

Shortstop: Kylie Carganilla (Farrington), Toni-Lynn Ibara (Kalani), Kiarra Lincoln (KS-Hawaii), Cherie Malacas (Lanai), Aleigha Scovel (Kauai)

Outfield: Caley Caires (Kauai), Mikayla Chun (Pac-Five), Rayna Higuchi (Aiea), Ruthie Ilab (Kalaheo), Jernee Keawe (Kohala), Brooke Keliihoomalu (Molokai), Chabrynne Kekua (Nanakuli), Logan Luke (Kalani) Taira Shibata (Aiea), Leah Vidad (Lanai)

Utility: Sabrina Alo (Kahuku), Sierra Amor (Konawaena), Mikelle Gonzales (Aiea), Cami-Leigh Horner (Molokai), Raynette Meyers-Kahalehoe (Nanakuli), Kaycie Okada (Farrington), Tesi Tavale (Aiea), Claire Villa (Lanai)

Pitcher: Chalyssa-Ann Belford (Nanakuli), Tiare Guerrero (Saint Francis), Mikayla Kekoa (Kohala), Kailee Nii (Kauai), Poamai Tuli (Aiea), Megan Yoshioka (Pac-Five)

Coaches that received consideration: Gary Ahu (KS-Hawaii), Ricky Gusman (Nanakuli), Kellett Hussey (Kalani), Randy Langsi (Saint Francis)





Note: All comments must be approved by an SL moderator prior to being published.


Star LB Toilolo transfers to Kapolei

Second-team All-Hawaii linebacker Dylan Toilolo registered for classes at Kapolei on Thursday.

16in16: Waialua Bulldogs

After winning their first league title since their dominant days more than 60 years ago, the Waialua...

16in16: Farrington Governors

With the brand new Edward ‘Skippa’ Diaz Stadium at Kusunoki Field now in commission, the Farrington...

Braves tryout camp set for Saturday at Mililani

Date and site changed for Atlanta Braves tryout for high-school aged players.

HHSAA hosting football stats workshop on July 29

The HHSAA is presenting a free Football Statisticians Workshop, Saturday, July 29, 1:00-4:00 p.m. at...

Three-tier, four-team format in place for state football

In a press release Friday afternoon the Hawaii High School Athletic Association announced that the HHSAA...