Finalists for Distinguished Athlete, Newcomer announced

Now in its fourth year, the ScoringLive Distinguished Athlete Awards, presented by the Great Aloha Run, honor standout student athletes for their performance over the course of the 2016-17 sports season, at an invitation-only banquet set for May 21 at the Manoa Grand Ballroom.

The culminating awards of the ceremony are the Male and Female Athletes of the Year, and we are proud to announce the finalists for this season.

They are, in alphabetical order:

Male Athlete of the Year
Tua Tagovailoa, Saint Louis School - football
Jessiya Villa, Kahuku High School - basketball
Jun Ho Won, Moanalua High School - golf

Female Athlete of the Year
Danielle Cervantes, Campbell High School - softball
Lia Foster, Punahou School - swimming
Kylee Kim-Bustillos, Iolani School - soccer


Pizza Hut Newcomer finalists selected

The Pizza Hut Newcomer is awarded for superior performance by a male and a female student-athlete participating in their first full year of play in varsity athletics.

This year's finalists, in alphabetical order are:

Male Newcomer
Jordan Donahue, Damien Memorial School - baseball
Alfred Failauga, Waipahu High School - football
Ryo Minakata, Hawaii Prep Academy - tennis

Female Newcomer
Elena Oglivie, Iolani School - volleyball
Jaeda McFarland, Pearl City High School - softball
Nanea Estrella, Lahainaluna High School - wrestling

Show your support

Every contribution, no matter the size, will help ScoringLive continue its mission to provide the best and most comprehensive coverage of high school sports in the state of Hawaii and beyond.

Please consider making a contribution today.



Raiders get first-half goal from Scherman to win ILH boys soccer crown

Noah Scherman's goal right before halftime helped Iolani (6-1-3) win its first league title since 2017...

No. 1 Mililani hands No. 2 Kalani first loss, successfully defends league crown

The Trojans, who played without their top goal scorer, netted a pair of goals after halftime Saturday...

Rough Riders cash in 2 second-half goals to down Tigers for first OIA title since 2016

Landen Kalani and Kisei Ikeda had a hand in both goals to help Roosevelt shut out McKinley in the title...

Punahou pulls away late to top Saint Louis in ILH tourney semis

The Buffanblu trailed by nine in the final period but outscored the Crusaders 20-6 and will face Maryknoll...

Yap powers Maryknoll past Iolani to reach ILH tourney final

Justin Yap scored a game-high 21 points and the Spartans pulled away for good in the fourth quarter.

Campbell pulls away from Moanalua; Kailua next

Rondell Blenman-Villarreal posted 15 points and nine rebounds to power the Sabers to a quarterfinal win...