2023-2024 DIVISION II »  Division I

Hawaii Prep's Samura leads All-Hawaii Division II selections

ScoringLive photo illustration

Player of the Year: Brooke Samura, Hawaii Prep, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Chico Furtado, Maryknoll


Isabella Arrisgado

Maryknoll  •  Sr
G  •  5'4

Brooke Samura

Hawaii Prep  •  Sr
G  •  5'4

Ellana Klemp

Hanalani  •  Jr
F  •  5'9

Keanu Huihui

KS-Hawaii  •  Sr
F/C  •  6'0

Olivia Malafu

Kapaa  •  Sr
C  •  6'0



Hailey Perez

Maryknoll  •  Jr
G  •  5'3

Taira Samiano

Kapaa  •  Jr
G  •  5'7

Kenna Wengler

Damien  •  
G  •  

Maela Honma

KS-Hawaii  •  Sr
F  •  5'9

Kailey Reverio

McKinley  •  Sr
F/C  •  


Farrington: Shayniah Cabato-Machado, Hunter Garcia
Hanalani: Pihaeu Akiona, Jayde Okuhara
Hawaii Baptist: Kaitlyn Maruya, Lauren Okuda, Sierra Ramos
Honokaa: Rylee Velazquez
Kapaa: Denise Alfonso, Skylyn Fagarang, Trinity Guillen
Kapolei: Leila Paraoan, Lilyanah-Tiare Tavale
KS-Hawaii: Baeleigh Luksen
Lanai: Veniza Jackson
Maryknoll: Madison Guillermo, Janelle Yap
McKinley: Haley Hosino, Grace Pham, Ayva Walthall
Mid-Pacific: Maile Bellevou, Kristie Kagawa
Pahoa: Jaylynn Kaawaloa-Alidon
Sacred Hearts: Emma Mangalao
University Lab: Kylie Oshita
Waianae: Karma Westbrook-Cueto
Waimea: Hailey Mata

Player of the Year: Brooke Samura, Hawaii Prep, Sr.

Samura led the entire state in scoring to be named the Division II Player of the Year. The senior guard averaged 34.6 points per game and posted seven games of scoring 40-plus. Her career-high came in the preseason against Kauai, where she had 46 points and shot 17 of 24 from the free throw line. She converted 133 of her 165 free throw attempts to finish above 80 percent on the season. Ka Makani finished with a 9-2 record in the BIIF and qualified for the state tournament for the third-straight year. She had 24 points and 13 rebounds in an opening round loss to Hawaii Baptist Academy in the state tournament, but scored 38 and 39 points, respectively, against Lanai and Kohala to cap the consolation round. As a junior, she averaged 26.7 ppg and was a First Team selection.

Coach of the Year: Chico Furtado, Maryknoll

For the first time since 1978, Furtado brought the championship hardware back to Maryknoll. The Spartans dominated their ILH Division II competition by 39.0 points per game. Maryknoll walloped Farrington, 70-27 in the state tournament opening round, and topped KS-Hawaii, 48-34, in the semifinals. In their third meeting against Hanalani, Maryknoll trailed at halftime but outscored the Royals, 25 to 11, in the second half to clinch its first title in 46 years. Isabella Arrisgado was named to the First Team and Hailey Perez was named to the Second Team. Madison Guillermo and Janelle Yap were Honorable Mention selections.