2017 DIVISION II »  Division I

Ng paved the path for Saint Francis' title run

Saint Francis' Kameron Ng drives to the hoop against Kalani in the Division II state championship game. John Lujan | SL


Kelvin Falk

Honokaa  •  Jr
G  •  5'11

Kameron Ng

Saint Francis  •  So
G  •  5'9

Isaiah Payne

Seabury Hall  •  Jr
G  •  6'0

Micah Mitchell

Hawaii Baptist  •  Jr
G/F  •  6'0

Jaemi Harris

Kalani  •  Sr
F/C  •  6'0



Zeke Santiago

Farrington  •  Jr
G  •  5'10

Lancen Kuni

Waialua  •  Sr
G  •  5'6

Bryce Johnson-Cormack

Kauai  •  Sr
G  •  5'11

Jerry Lawson

Le Jardin  •  Sr
G/F  •  6'5

Kamuela Spencer-Herring

Honokaa  •  Jr
C  •  6'3


Anuenue: Kailau Keola
Campbell: Zane Arata, Ryan Cabanilla, Christian Corpuz
Castle: Elton Naki
Christian Academy: Frederick Harris
Damien: Shaun Apiki, Kolin Galdiano
Farrington: Reymar Morales
Hanalani: Joshua Hooper
Hawaii Baptist: Ty Minatoya, Max Wiemken
Hawaii Prep: Matija Vitorovic
Honokaa: Koali Callihan, Micah Lorenzo
Kalani: Micah Kawano, Kapaa Nishimura, Trey Sumida
Kapaa: Saxsen Shiira
Kauai: Joseph Cumlat, Christian Manera
Lanai: John Pol Baltero, Naighel Calderon
Le Jardin: Charles Abe, Dominic Venezia
Molokai: Kaina Adolpho, Edel Mark Alvarez
Nanakuli: Jayrius Alapai, Carlos Brown, Moustapha Wagne
Roosevelt: Jared Elwin, Jason Talbo, Micah Visoria
Saint Francis: Manoa Kualii-Moe, Noah Kurosawa, Supilani Mailei, Boris Vukovic
Seabury Hall: Chandler Dobson, Cameron Hanisch, Christian Jenkins, Kama Konohia
University Lab: Charles Fox, Travis Kaloa, Otto Taylor
Waimea: DJ Pabre, Joel Soriano

Coaches that also received consideration: Jayme Carvalho (Honokaa), Ron Durant (Saint Francis), Ken Powell (Le Jardin)

Player of the Year: Kameron Ng, Saint Francis, G, So.
There was no shortage of creativity for Saint Francis' Kameron Ng.

The Saints' sophomore point guard engineered the Saint Francis boys basketball team's Division II state championship run and was selected as the ScoringLive All-Hawaii Division II Player of the Year.

With Ng leading the way Saint Francis compiled a 26-4 record, including a 10-0 perfect streak during the Interscholastic League of Honolulu Division II season. The Saints also finished as the sixth-ranked team in the Hawaiian Electric Boys Basketball Power Rankings and had a preseason win over eventual Division I state champion Kahuku.

"I would say he's the general of that team, he's what makes them go," said Damien coach Alvin Stephenson. "He grew up a lot from his freshman year to sophomore year."

Ng's ability to create his own shot made him a scoring machine for the Saints. The 5-foot-8 sophomore averaged 18.8 points per game, scoring 20 points or more in 15 different games.

"He probably has some of the best handles in the ILH, Division I or Division II. I know he made a couple of our kids fall when we played them." said Stephenson. "He just finds a way to get it done, that's what makes him tough to guard. He has pretty much everything that a guard should have on offense."

Stephenson added that like all good point guards, Ng was always in control of the game.

"His composure in games was real big," said Stephenson. "The pace and the tempo of the game also went at his pace. He never let anbody speed him up and he pretty much used his teammates well."

Joining Ng on the First Team is Honokaa's Kelvin Falk, Hawaii Baptist's Micah Mitchell, Kalani's Jaemi Harris and Seabury Hall's Isaiah Payne, a repeat selection.

The Second Team is comprised of Farrington's Zeke Santiago, Waialua's Lancen Kuni, Kauai's Bryce Johnson-Cormack, Le Jardin's Jerry Lawson and Honokaa's Kamuela Spencer-Herring.

Coach of the Year: Nathan Davis, Kalani
The 2017 Kalani boys basketball team accomplished something that no other team in school history — win a championship.

Kalani overcame its title game woes with a 42-34 win over Farrington in the Oahu Interscholastic Association Division II title game. The Falcons also advanced to their third Division II state championship game in four years.

For his team's success, Kalani coach Nathan Davis was chosen as the ScoringLive All-Hawaii Division II Coach of the Year.

"Well deserved, good for him," said Roosevelt coach Steve Hathaway. "I was hoping he would get a title this year, and I'm glad he won the OIA."

What makes the Falcons' postseason run so impressive was that they did it with no one averaging more than eight points per game.

"Nate gets a lot out of his team," said Hathaway. "He's well liked by his players and peers. They had some good players last year graduate, but I thought they were better this year.

"They really shocked me. They really just kept going all year. It's a well deserved selection. He gets the most out of his teams."