Moanalua sweeps top OIA Red East honors

Moanalua shortstop Tim Arakawa was named OIA Red East Player of the Year. ScoringLive file photo
Moanalua shortstop Timothy Arakawa was named O'ahu Interscholastic Association Red East Player of the Year.

The division's coaches selected the all-star team, which was submitted by the OIA.

Moanalua's Scott Yamada was named Coach of the Year.

OIA East All-Stars

Submitted by the OIA

Player of the Year
Timothy Arakawa, Moanalua

Coach of the Year
Scott Yamada, Moanalua

First team

C - Alan Baldwin, Kailua
P - Reagan Lum, Moanalua
P - Alika Ramseyer-Ho, Kailua
1B - Bryson Dymond, Kailua
2B - Ryan McMonigle, Kailua
SS - Timothy Arakawa, Moanalua
3B - Jordan Deponte, Moanalua
OF - Kory Sasaoka, Kailua
OF - Drayson Ito, Roosevelt
OF - Michael Egami, Moanalua
U - Kaipo Oamilda-Sholtz, Kaiser
DH - Kamalu Kamoku, Moanalua

Second team

C - Robert Fram, Castle
P - Brandon Ikeda, Roosevelt
P - Kamalu Kamoku, Moanalua
1B - Kaipo Oamilda-Sholtz, Kaiser
2B - Randon Mamuad, Roosevelt
SS - Kila Zuttermeister, Kailua
3B - Brandon Hamasaki, Roosevelt
OF - Austin Ortega, Kaiser
OF - Brandon Higa, Castle
OF - Bronson Shim, Moanalua

Honorable mention

Castle: Froy Smith, Elika Jarrett, Manoa Medrano, Dustin Nakayama.
Kahuku: Samson Mamizuka, Mike Sabido, Justin Van Ness, Samuel Ching, Specner Tainui Nagy, Hekili Graycochea, Evan Ramirez, Iukini Hughes.
Kailua: Kea Vierra, Elijah Davidann, Riejg Alo-Chang.
Kaiser: Makana Lyman, Jake Torigoe, Tyler Lau, Andy Verke, Royce Kuromoto, Ryan Kano, Jordan Simao, Matthew Nagata, Teli Latu.
Kalani: Jase Furuya, Trevor Ozaki, Kalen Chikamori, Cody Nakashima, Chase Sumida, Micah Wong, Spencer Shiroma, Wilkins Kato, Jayson Okimoto, Matthew Murakami, Bryson Shiraishi.
Moanalua: Brandon Kong, Todd Takabuki, Ross Hasegawa, Austin Inabata, James Higa, Miles Higa.
Roosevelt: Mike Matsuoka, Edison Sakata, Tyris Tominaga, Mike Caris.






Note: All comments must be approved by an SL moderator prior to being published.


McKinley bounces back with 65-53 win over Moanalua

Four players scored in double figures to help the Tigers move back into the win column.

No. 10 Kapolei pulls away from Mililani, 58-34

The tenth-ranked Hurricanes outscored host Mililani by 23 points after the first quarter to improve to...

Punahou sends off seniors with 39-28 win over Sacred Hearts

Five player scored seven points or more in the Buffanblu's regular season finale against the visiting...

Mililani escapes with 2-1 win over Castle

The Trojans, the top-seeded team from the OIA West and defending league champs, improved to 10-0-2 and...

Chargers move on with 1-0 win over Menes

Sunshine Fontes scored the lone goal early in the second half to help Pearl City hand Moanalua its first...

Kurt Taylor Jr. blazes his own path in football

Son of former University of Hawaii basketball point guard Kurt Taylor Sr. is among a number of highly-recruited...